A Thing

She said
‘There’s beauty in the movement,
Keep your counsel
Don’t subdue it’

I disagreed
And she stepped off
My throat
I rubbed my neck
But managed, just about, to stay afloat.

I didn’t see
The point
In the debate
I laboured, lingered
When I had a thing to say
I knew it was too late.

I said
‘I’ll never lose the violence
In my mind
I’ll never find the silence’

Lay back down
And felt the weight of boot-on-neck
As she smiled sadly,
Told me that
It wouldn’t hurt so badly
If I’d just stay still

But I was never one for staying still.

About dcduell

Failed musician. Trying to write for TV. Never sure quite where I'm headed. Serial un-funnyman. I used to do a lot of writing. Sometimes I still do. So I decided to put it on the internet. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Pretty active on the former, not so much on the latter. Holler at me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment