Itch

Treat him like a carthorse
Never give him anything by way of recourse
He’s done, son
He’s got a glitter in his eye
When he remembers how he used to want to try
He used to burn
You will never see him learn
You will only see him sink away
As he deflects
The piercing light of day

Never such a waste of time
Never such a line he belted out
As well as he would belt out mine

I was him then
And I’ll not be him again
It’s never easy
But there used to be so much of me

That big ol’ road is getting shorter.

About dcduell

Failed musician. Trying to write for TV. Never sure quite where I'm headed. Serial un-funnyman. I used to do a lot of writing. Sometimes I still do. So I decided to put it on the internet. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Pretty active on the former, not so much on the latter. Holler at me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

