The Threat Of So Much Promise

The threat of so much promise
Used to keep me honest
Not now though, pilgrim
I look back but now I’m so far from it

I used to have a kind of violent desire
A faith in my cause
An undeniable inner fire
Often misguided
And often derided
But hype with pride
And energy that I could always find

Maybe I need to get it back
But it’s hard to want to want it
When I remember now
How I used to be so single-minded
I’m older now, lazy,
Anxious and blindsided
By the slightest of demands
The future may be in my hands
But my hands are soft, shaky,
Milky-white and only ever reaching
For the wine or extra gravy

I don’t know how to suffer for my art anymore
And though I have a little art
I don’t know what I used to suffer for

The threat of so much promise
It has been demolished
And in its place a dull chest pain
A sleepiness, a foggy brain

Fuck me, I’m done in before I’m even thirty
I’ve got to get some go again
This world didn’t used to deserve me
But now I’m just a layman
With a ‘Hey man’
And a stare
And it’s such an effort
Even imagining going anywhere.

The threat of so much promise
And a need for solace
I’ve been laid up too long
But I don’t know if I’ll be back, son.

I’ll try to keep it honest
I can’t make a promise
But there’s still a vicious ambition
And enough bones to get broken on it

About dcduell

Failed musician. Trying to write for TV. Never sure quite where I'm headed. Serial un-funnyman. I used to do a lot of writing. Sometimes I still do. So I decided to put it on the internet. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Pretty active on the former, not so much on the latter. Holler at me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Threat Of So Much Promise

  1. I of July says:

    You have a distinctive voice, I’m enjoying reading your work

Leave a Reply

