The Memories Of Rain

Rain. Always evocative. Maybe it’s just me.

I think a lot about rain. And when it rains, I think a lot. December 2013, when I stared out of the window of my girlfriend’s childhood apartment in St Petersburg, onto the grey streets, and realised that I was finally visiting a city I’d wanted to visit for so long. Even yesterday, Sunday, as we sat in our tiny, bolted-on conservatory and heavy rain made it hard to hear each other speak.

And further back. May 2005, when I stood in the Quadrangle on my last day of School, before breaking up for A-Level study leave, and I noticed the first droplets of rain fall on the plants by the staff-room, and I was briefly overwhelmed by the sense of nostalgia, by the fact that I was now irretrievably and finally being thrust into the real world. I don’t think I felt ready.

School. Evocative indeed. Rain on the pitches when I reluctantly played hockey. Mud on house kit and sports socks. Summer rain, winter rain. I remember being rained on as I sheltered under a towel in a park in London on Hallowe’en 2001, as I’d run away from home. I soon came back, chilled and exhausted.

Brighton, November 2011. Running through driving rain to get to a venue, as we ran with guitars and merchandise, touring the ‘Film Fanatic’ EP with Bombers. Drenched, we arrived, smiled, laughed.

Rain on my parade, go on. It brings me unexpected memories. I sift through them, picking one up, turning it over and examining it with unpractised hands. Rain on my parade and I will smile at you, gratefully.

About dcduell

Failed musician. Trying to write for TV. Never sure quite where I'm headed. Serial un-funnyman. I used to do a lot of writing. Sometimes I still do. So I decided to put it on the internet. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Pretty active on the former, not so much on the latter. Holler at me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

