Slugger

Shoulder playing up again. Took a shot of adrenaline. Not many left.

 

When I last looked up at the sky, the stars were pretty clouded out. Tonight they seem clear. I can see them, anyways. I’ll keep my eye on them for a moment, just to make sure they don’t wither away and fade from my vision. Most of the time I try to keep my head down.

 

I killed a man yesterday. Well, I say I killed him. I think he was already dead. But I didn’t like the way he was sitting, so I gave him a beating with the Stick. The Stick is useful – it’s a comfort to me. I carry it around, on my belt. It hangs down by my side, close to my right leg.

 

The stars are foolish. They shine so brightly – they should conserve their energy. That’s what it’s all about.

 

Back before everything collapsed, in the Way Back When, I could have been a writer. I could have been a star of stage and screen. But as it goes, I just walk. I walk, forage, hide, fight, sleep, walk some more. I don’t really know why. I wonder how long it would take for me to have walked across the world. I wonder if I would know.

 

Shoulder pain. Focuses my mind. Head down. Keep walking, slugger.

About dcduell

Failed musician. Trying to write for TV. Never sure quite where I'm headed. Serial un-funnyman. I used to do a lot of writing. Sometimes I still do. So I decided to put it on the internet. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Pretty active on the former, not so much on the latter. Holler at me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

