The Struggle

They said
That they
Would relieve the position
I didn’t know
That they were lying
To you
I agreed
To hold

 

The weeks they passed
And heat and cold
It took its toll
The guns they kept us
Warm
And yet
The violence
Made us cold
Inside

“I don’t see any way

Out of here”

I turned to you
And listened to your voice
Once so full of hope
But now you pointed
Pistol to your mouth
And fired
I was not impressed
Though we were always
Best of friends

Nihilistic,
I staggered through the falling town
They said that they’d
Relieve us
But they never came
Just talked of noble sacrifice
As we committed suicides
And rapes and murders
Fell upon us
Nothing noble lives
But dies and needs no epitaph

Look at yourself
As you lie dying
Facing falling skies
And the town in which you’d spent your life
Collapsing to the dirt

They said that they would still relieve us
Even as I stood alone
For want of my companions
All of whom had slain themselves
In mortal combat
With an inner pain

When will I feel bold enough to die?
I need some respite
From this constant rape and murder
Of the soul
I need some darkness
To descend upon the light
And hide me in
A womb-like sense of comfort

This life
It buries me
In all of its complexity

And I have got to die
Like you and he
Have had to
There is no relief
And this old town
Is being
Burned alive

I need to sleep
But war, it takes so much
And I must struggle
To stop myself
From falling into
Trap upon another trap

Relief has not arrived
And I hope one day
I will have the courage
To give up hope
And take my lowly life

 

About dcduell

Failed musician. Trying to write for TV. Never sure quite where I'm headed. Serial un-funnyman. I used to do a lot of writing. Sometimes I still do. So I decided to put it on the internet. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Pretty active on the former, not so much on the latter. Holler at me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

