The Colony

The colony

Was readily
Affected
By the gas
And they succumbed
Awfully quickly

 

I saw the mothers
And the fathers
And the workers
They all died

How can you love me as an equal
When the colony’s destruction
Was my work?

I worked
Unfeelingly
Through the night
Until the gas
Dispersed among them

And then I saw
From deep in smoke
And from out of the chaos

A single pair of lovers, hand in hand
With mangled faces, burned by fumes and broken plans.

I still see them
They could not have a kiss goodbye

Because their mouths had welded tightly shut

 

And yet they stared
For thirty seconds
Into each other’s loving, blinded eyes
Before collapsing
In a dead embrace.

How can you love me as an equal
When the colony’s destruction
Was my only creation?

About dcduell

Failed musician. Trying to write for TV. Never sure quite where I'm headed. Serial un-funnyman. I used to do a lot of writing. Sometimes I still do. So I decided to put it on the internet. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Pretty active on the former, not so much on the latter. Holler at me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Colony

  1. Pingback: The Colony | Looping Static

Leave a Reply

